Do NOT read this blog if u don´t like men in kilt or have no sens of humor

Day six

To catch the ferry that was booked we had to leave at 4:30am and once again it was a race against time. Unfortunately I cant say I was happy about it though I prefer enjoy my trips where I’d rather take it easy and avoid stress of any kind. But we had to go and that in a hurry.

It was still dark when we toke of but slowly it began to daybreak and I was even more and more stunned of the scenery. We were now up in the Highlands and I was lost for words really.

We did stop at the Eilean Donan castle for a few minutes and that was also a big mistake not having enough time to spend there. I did get some pictures but I could easily have stayed longer. Ok.. the castle is probably one of Scotlands most photographed but still… It was an exceptional place to see.

With the Scottish flag blowing in the wind we once again hit the road this time with the destination Uig.

We got there  and we didn´t have to wait long to go om board on the ferry.

I felt calmness rushing through my veins watching the mainland getting smaller and smaller in the horizon. The wind was blowing in my hair and the sun was shining on my face. In a matter of moments I would for the first take my first steps on the Isle of Harris. The final destination of my trip. I was so exited and I was counting every minute.

All kinds of birds was sailing along with the boat. This is a Fulmar but there were others like northern gannets and of course lots of sea gals too. 

Just before we where about to arrive in Tarbert this loud aircraft passed right on top of our heads and almost scared the hell out of us all. They came fast and we didn´t se or hear them until they were directly above us. An interesting welcome I´d say…


Finally we where arriving at Harris. I went down the stairs to go back to the the car but…. didn´t we par there? Or was it on the other side? I walked around but no… Walked back again to see if I´ve missed it somehow and I was starting to wonder if I had lost it totally but no… there was no car. What in the world??? I got back to the stairs and there I happened to overhear other people also looking for their cars and someone answered that it was not to worry…. it was two levels on the ferry and the first one they had hoisted up into the roof to fit more cars in.
Oh thanks a lot! I was getting really confused about it so I was very pleased to hear this news.

It toke ages to get off the boat I thought but we did and we drove to this parking lot and stopped. Our friend David who was suppose to meet us had not arrived yet so I called him up and asked if he was on his way witch he was.
It was great to finally meet him in person and we felt that this was going to be a very pleasant stay for all of us.

At Davids house we met his mom Norma witch was the sweetest lady with a lovely and broad scottish accent and also their two collie dogs Fleece and Fly.
I knew for sure I was gonna have a wonderful time on the Hebrides.

View from Davids house.

In the afternoon David toke us to the beach and even if I had seen pictures of it earlier I was amazed how beautiful it really was. 

Who would have thought I was gonna see this in Scotland? Long white sandy beaches, blue sky and turquoise water?

One response

  1. Syssy M Jaktman

    Wooow Marie, finally you arrived to the “Real Paradise”:P
    Great pics you deliver her on the blogg 🙂

    August 27, 2012 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

